Kenya Top Stories

Mt Kenya biggest loser in Kenya Kwanza power deal

Mt Kenya biggest loser in Kenya Kwanza power deal

By Justus Karanja

The populous Mt Kenya region with about eight million voters will be the biggest loser in the Deputy President William Ruto’s (pictured with Mudavadi and Wetang'ula) Kenya Kwanza Alliance power deal if the coalition wins the presidential race.

Though Ruto plans to name a deputy from Mt Kenya, he wants a less influential figure such as Tharaka Nithi Senator Kithure Kindiki, a man who cannot push for the interests of Mt Kenya region.

In the power Kenya Kwanza plans to deposit with the Registrar of Political Parties today, the Luhya community will be the biggest winners though Amani National Congress leader Musalia Mudavadi and his Ford Kenya counterpart Moses Wetang’ula joined the coalition in the eleventh hour.

Ruto of United Democratic Alliance (UDA), Mudavadi and Wetang’ula signed a separate pact alliance pioneers, which guarantees ANC and Ford Kenya a 30 per cent share of government.

 The other parties will be rewarded based on their performance in the August General Election, including the number of parliamentary and county seats won.

This means the Kalenjin community, that is the bedrock of UDA, will get the lion’s share of the government slots.

Having chosen not to form a coalition political party like Raila Odinga’s Azimio la Umoja One Kenya coalition, the Kenya Kwanza legally have until end of today, May 9, to deposit a coalition agreement if he intends to go into the election as a coalition.

The KKA power sharing revelation is coming just days after the ANC leader, while in Vihiga, disclosed that the 30 per cent deal would apply to government positions in the Executive, the Judiciary and Parliament.

This, he said, would see the Luhya community get 30 per cent of the 22 cabinet slots, 30 per cent of judicial appointments as well as 30 per cent of ambassadorial positions.

The deal, he added, also covered appointments in all state agencies.

This also means that if ANC and Ford Kenya get 30 per cent of the government, the other 10 parties in the alliance will have to share out the remaining 70 per cent.

The alliance brings together UDA, ANC, Ford Kenya, Justin Muturi’s Democratic Party, Moses Kuria’s Chama Cha Kazi, the Communist Party of Kenya, Mwangi Kiunjuri’s The Service Party, William Kabogo’s Tujibebe Party, the Farmers Party, Devolution Party of Kenya, Economic Freedom Party and Embu governor Martin Wambora’s Umoja na Maendeleo Party.

Display Comments

Leave A Comment